Halal -(Arabic: حلال-) Lawful according to
Islamic deen (law), especially food that
may be eaten by
Muslims. There are different interpretations
of what food is Halal and what is not, and the laws and customs pertaining to Halal food are remarkably similar to those
pertaining to Kashruth (Jewish kosher food). Food that is not Halal is
According to less strict interpretations, pork, carrion, food not slaughtered in the name of god, carnivorous
animals, alcohol and drugs are absolutely
Haram (forbidden), but Muslims can eat food
that has been approved as kosher under Jewish law.
Most of the Islamic food prohibitions are stated or inferred from verses in the
Quran, but some are also derived from
According to the strictest interpretations, (Dhabiĥa Halal) the animal must be slaughtered
so as to assure proper blood drainage, without prior stunning. This method, called
is consistent with the laws of Kashruth. However, authorities differ on whether or not meat slaughtered under Jewish
Kashruth laws is Halal (see
Kosher). Moreover, authorities differ on whether fish without scales are kosher. The Hanafi school
generally holds that shellfish (shrimp, lobster, crab, clams, etc.) are prohibited. Most authorities agree
that frogs are prohibited. In some Muslim communities, all amphibians are considered Haram.
Halal in the literal and broadest sense, used in Muslim societies, means "permitted." A
prayer, for example or an act, may be deemed to be Halal or Haram.
Synonyms and alternate spellings: Halaal